Jason Ernst published article in Genome Research

Jason Ernst published "Interplay between chromatin state, regulator binding, and regulatory motifs in six human cell types" in Genome Research.

Edward DeRobertis elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Congratulations to Dr. Edward DeRobertis, who was elected to the National Academy of Sciences! This year, the National Academy of Sciences announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates from14 countries in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. We are proud to announce that Dr. DeRobertis a distinguished professor in the department of Biological Chemistry, is one of the newly elected members. Dr. DeRobertis is the fifth member in the Department of Biological Chemistry who has been elected to the National Academy of Sciences. The others include Dr. Elizabeth Neufeld (1977), Dr. David Eisenberg (1989), Dr. Michael Grunstien (2008) and Dr. Larry Zipursky (2009). News from the National Academy of Sciences - Vice Chancellor's Announcement - UCLA Health Employee News

Kathrin Plath publishes paper in Cell Reports

Kathrin Plath published "The pluripotency factor-bound intron 1 of Xist is dispensable for X chromosome inactivation and reactivation in vitro and in vivo" in Cell Reports.


Postdoc Vincent Pasque is featured in Journal of Cell Science Prize for Young Scientists

Vincent Pasque, a postdoctoral fellow in the lab of Klathrin Plath, is featured in the 2012 Journal of Cell Science Prize for Young Scientists due to his joint first-author paper entitled "Histone variant macroH2A marks embryonic differentiation in vivo and acts as an epigenetic barrier to induced pluripotency." Journal of Cell Science article

Kathrin Plath publishes paper in Cell

Kathrin Plath published "Epigenetics of reprogramming to induced pluripotency" in Cell.

UCLA Neuroscience selects Dr. Kelsey Martin as Chair

UCLA Neuroscience is being chaired by Dr. Kelsey Martin, who also chairs the Department of Biological Chemistry. UCLA’s neuroscience community also ranks among the largest anywhere, with an estimate of around 500 UCLA faculty members engaged in studying the brain from a wide variety of perspectives. Dr. Martin has headed efforts to encourage more cross-disciplinary cooperation within the Neuroscience community, a move that would help attract philanthropy and grants to support brain research. Dr. Martin has stated that "This [national effort] will require an understanding of the emergent properties of the brain — how all of the pieces of the puzzle work — but from a broader perspective, so we can see how it all fits together. That will definitely require a large interdisciplinary effort." UCLA Today - Taking on Brain-Activity Mapping Initiative

David Eisenberg is named as the Senior Scientist Accomplishment Award award winner by the 2013

David Eisenberg is named as the Senior Scientist Accomplishment Award award winner by the 2013 International Society for Computational Biology. The ISCB Senior Scientist Accomplishment Award recognizes outstanding members of the computational biology community who have made major contributions to the field of computational biology through research, education, and service. Dr. Eisenberg's reasearch includes studies of protein interactions by X-ray crystallography, bioinformatics, and biochemistry, with an emphasis on amyloid-forming proteins. ISCB will present the Senior Scientist Award to Dr. Eisenberg at the 21st Annual Intelligent Systems for Molecular Biology Conference on July 23, 2013 in Berlin, Germany. Congratulations Dr. Eisenberg! ISCB Announces Award Winners
21st Annual ISCB Conference - David Eisenberg

Drs. Carey and Colicelli receives Distinguished Teaching Award

Dr. Michael Carey and Dr. John Colicelli from the Department of Biological Chemistry have been selected by the Committee of Teaching as this year's recipients of the Distinguished Teaching Award for Academic Senate faculty! Both professors will share the Undergraduate Mentorship Award. Each year the ULCA Alumni Association presents 6 Distinguished Teaching Awards to faculty members nominated from academic departments during Fall Quarter, with each award carrying an honorarium of $6000. In receiving and winning this reward, Dr. Carey and Dr. Colicelli join a very select group of UCLA's finest teachers. Congratulations Dr. Carey and Dr. Colicelli! More information can be found at the Undergraduate Research Center site.

Jason Ernst selected as a 2013 Sloan Research Fellow

Congratulations to Jason Ernst, who was selected as a 2013 Sloan Research Fellow! The Alfred P. Sloan Foundation recognizes exceptional early-career scientists and scholars in science, mathematics, economics, and computer science. The recipients are awarded for two years and receive a $50,000 research stipend. Nominated by their peers and selected by a distinguished panel of senior scholars, Sloan research fellows represent the next generation of leaders in the fields of science, economics, mathematics, economics, and computer science.

Congratulations Dr. Ernst!

Gabriel Travis published in Nature Chemical Biology

Gabriel Travis published "Identifcation of DES1 as a vitamin A isomerase in Müller glial cells of the retina" in Nature Chemical Biology.



Subscribe to  Department of Biological Chemistry, UCLA RSS